The Christian CalendarChristianYearCycle

The United Methodist Church uses the Christian Calendar which is made up of seven seasons.  There are special days that occur during the seven seasons.  The seasons honor the birth, life, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ, the coming of the Holy Spirit, and the Kingdom of God.  The special days within the year remind us of events that are important to Christians.
The Christian year has two cycles and and includes additional worship services.
  • Christmas Cycle: Advent-Christmas-Epiphany

    Candlelight Christmas Eve Worship

  • Easter Cycle: Lent-Easter-Pentecost

    Ash Wednesday Service

    Maundy Thursday Worship
    Good Friday Service

    Sonrise Easter Worship

Within each cycle are a preparatory season symbolized by the color purple and a festival season symbolized by the color white. After each cycle there is an ordinary time of growth symbolized the color green.
Thus there is a sequence of seasons using purple, white, and green in that order twice each year. ”
The United Methodist Book of Worship